Brew News

Lion win big at Brewers Guild Awards

Now in its ninth year, the Brewers Guild NZ International Beer Awards 2015 were held in September in Auckland.

Many of our Craftology picks breweries, past and present, were among the winners and finalists, with the big award – Champion Brewer, received by Lion. Lion beat 93 other New Zealand breweries and 6 international breweries to be crowned best brewery.  Lion produces and markets six of the country’s top 10 beer brands, including Speight’s, Steinlager and Mac’s, regional brands such as Waikato Draught and a growing range of craft and international beers including Emerson’s, Corona, Stella Artois and Guinness. In total, Lion beers won 28 medals across 10 categories.

The 14 Beer Category Winners are:


Category (sponsor)



International Lager styles (O-I)

Lion (national)


NZ Lager styles (Cryer Malt)

Panhead Custom Ales (Wgtn)

Port Road Pilsner

British Ale styles (Leading Label Co.)

Mike’s Organic Brewing (Taranaki)

Organic Ale

European Ale styles (BeerNZ)

Garage Project (Wgtn)


US Ale styles (Australian International Beer Awards)

Bach Brewing (Akld)

Duskrider Red IPA

Pale Ale styles (Weyermann)

Fork Brewing (Wgtn)

Godzone Beat

Strong Pale Ale styles (Red Kegs)

Epic Brewing Company (Akld)


Stout & Porter styles (Kegstar)

Raindogs Brewing Company (ChCh)

Singularity Imperial Stout

Wheat & Other Grain styles (Beer and Brewer)

Dominion Breweries (national)

Black Dog - Blizzard

Flavoured & Aged Styles (Excel Digital)

Good George Brewing (Hamilton)

Blueberry Gose

Specialty, Experimental, Aged (Plant & Food Research)

Garage Project (Wgtn)

Wabi Sabi

Cider & Perry styles (Profruit)

Forbidden Brewing Company (Akld)

Simply Apple Cider

Fruit or Flavoured styles (Brewers Guild of NZ)

Lion (national)

Issac’s Berry Cider

Packaging (SATO)

McCashin’s Brewery (Nelson-Tasman)

Stoke Amber 300ml 6 Pack

Steam Brewing
 was named ENPAC Champion Manufacturer while the Brewers Guild of New Zealand Media/Beer Writer of the Year award went to Fairfax's Jono Galuszka.Brisbane-based Castlemaine Perkins was named NZ Hops Champion International Brewery, while DB’s Morton Coutts Trophy for Innovation or Achievement went to Gladfield Malt for their development and expansion of New Zealand-based malting and specialty malting.

For the full list of trophy and medal winners – check out the Brewers Guild website here